The Thief of my Joy

As many of you know there has been a huge wave of discourse through the book community the last few days. And if you missed it GOD BLESS that rock you live under and more importantly where do I find one? The majority of the time I miss exactly what has happened, although I am usually aware something has happened, but this time it couldn’t be missed so I knew it was something major that could have a profound effect on a world I love so dearly. So many emotions ran through me the more I dug deeper into the most recent drama. At first I was dumbfounded this was truly happening and then I was angry for the authors and community I have grown to love and then? Then, I was just sad. And that is what we are here to talk about today because the more involved I get in this world, whether it be relationships with authors, bloggers or readers, the sadder I find myself.

I’ve been in this world for a few years now. At first it was as a reader that eventually grew into being on author teams and now as a blogger. I have been an avid reader as long as I can remember but when I was introduced to the indie world it was like a whole new universe had been brought to my doorstep. Those first few months I was introduced to the likes of Jillian Dodd, J. Sterling, Colleen Hoover,  and Tarryn Fisher which then avalanched into so many more. The indie world is special. Authors and readers alike are rabid when protecting this world. But sometimes that rabidness can snowball into something that isn’t good for anyone. It can have quite the opposite effect it was initially created for.

More and more I see this rabidness and every time it knocks my love for this world down a bit. As a reader and blogger this saddens and angers me the same time. I have had many talks with friends quite recently about how at times I just want to walk away. I want to read books that are more on the traditionally published side because, although I am sure has its own drama, it just isn’t public like it is in the indie world and I know I won’t be dragged into it.  At least then I can be oblivious and find the absolute joy I used to have when reading. Because now, I feel that joy comes with a price. I have so many times wanted to delete every single friend I have made in this world, go unlike pages and delete my own posts just to be rid of it all. I can’t handle it anymore. It is part of the reason I have become so dang choosy in what I read and who I promote on my personal page anymore. I think a lot of you may have noticed that my FB page, one that used to be full of my favorite books and authors, now rarely has book stuff on it. Mostly because I don’t want to be caught in the cross hairs if something does come up and another is, this world just isn’t what it used to be. Maybe it’s growing pains. Maybe it’s selfishness. With all that said though, I know there is still so much good out there because I do see it all the time and it’s those in which you will see on my page. Maybe just a bit less for the time being.

To the authors I love so much, keep writing. Keep fighting for something you love so much. But, and it’s a big one, do it with class and integrity. Don’t stoop to a level that turns readers off because I am here to tell you it will backfire on you. It will. I have personally stopped promoting and reading several authors the last couple of years due to things they have done to this world, to my friends, or to me personally. And although I don’t have a ton of influence I do have some. I talk to my friends, who have also stopped reading several authors for all the above, and those friends talk to theirs. Ripple affects happen and they can make their way back to you. So many of you do fight with class and integrity but I have witnessed some who haven’t. Don’t be that person. It doesn’t just make you look bad, it makes an entire wonderful community look bad and then people want to leave. Or they do leave. One of my favorite authors and people ever left because of it. As a matter of fact I came across one of their books on my kindle recently and my heart broke all over again because they were one of the good ones. Let’s not let this happen anymore.

To my fellow readers, the same applies to you. Don’t stoop to a level that you go and write shitty reviews or give 1 stars on books you may have never read. Or you message or write damaging comments on posts.  Don’t change old reviews because you now don’t particularly like someone. If anything, just delete it if you can’t consciously leave it up. I, for one, will not mess with someone’s livelihood out of anger. Reviews are so important as we all know. I won’t be that person and I implore you to live by the same rule. Because you see, when we readers do something, it not only reflects on us individually but on the authors we love so much. And once again you have that wonderful ripple affect. But that one will come back on them, not us. Let’s help build the good in this community and leave those fights to the ones in the actual fight. Don’t be a part of a lynch mob. I’ve seen it happen too many times.

I don’t want to leave this community. I don’t. I have made wonderful relationships with so many great people. I will leave though. I have learned life is way too short to be a part of something that no longer brings you joy and that joy is slowly getting chipped away to where it will eventually be no more. If that day comes I will be heartbroken like so many others are right now but I will walk away for my own protection. So let’s work to get this community back to where it once was. Where it was months or even longer before something so bad happened the whole world knew about it. Let’s support our favorite authors with love and help them fight the good fight but only if it can be done while keeping the integrity of those around us. Because the thing is, if someone does something bad and their true colors show they won’t last long around here. Karma will get them. Let’s let her do her job while we read good books.

Leave a comment